Japan’s Epsilon rocket sends Van Allen Belt spacecraft into orbit

posted by
December 20, 2016
SpaceFlight Insider    
Posted in News

"Using an upgraded Epsilon rocket, Japan sent its Exploration of Energizing and Radiation in Geospace (ERG) spacecraft into a high-energy orbit that will repeatedly pass through the Van Allen belts to allow the probe to study how geomagnetic storms form. Liftoff from Kyushu Island took place at 8 p.m. Japan Standard Time (6 a.m. EST / 11:00 GMT). This was only the second time Japan had launched an Epsilon rocket, which made its debut flight in 2013. It replaces the country's M-V rocket, more expensive and larger, which was retired in 2006. Epsilon is a three-stage, 85-foot (26-meter) tall Japanese solid-fuel rocket. The booster was derived from the strap-on motors used on Japan's H-2A launcher. It is designed to lift payloads smaller than 2,600 pounds (1,200 kilograms) depending on the orbit and altitude required for payload insertion." (12/20/16)

http://www.spaceflightinsider.com/organizations/jaxa/japans-epsilon-rocket-sends-van-allen-belt-spacecraft-into-orbit/  

Tags: , ,

Our Sponsors